The reason I’m doing this

Me with my arm round my breeding bull, Ernie

Me with my arm round my breeding bull, Ernie

I’ve never done anything like this before so you’ll have to bear with me. My name is David Barton and I’m a beef farmer based in the picturesque Cotswolds in Gloucestershire. The farm has been in my family for five generations and it’s a real family business. I love the life farming affords me – I live in one of the most beautiful parts of the country surrounded by amazing scenery – and can’t think of a better way of life.

We currently have around 160 head of stock which are bred and reared for beef production. They graze in the fields around the farm and, even if I do say so myself, they are amazing and beautiful creatures.

I’ve decided to start writing this blog to share my experiences of dealing with the realities of bovine TB as a working livestock farmer. My motivation is to share my thoughts and feelings about the impact of this disease on farmers like me and to show the pressures and problems it causes on working farms. I’m committed to doing the best job with this that I can so I’ve had some help from someone who knows about these things to set the site up for me. But the words are my own. Some of the things I talk about won’t be pretty and some will make for uncomfortable reading (and uncomfortable writing) but everything will show the reality of what living with TB is like from my perspective.

 

5 thoughts on “The reason I’m doing this

  1. David – I know it is not easy to talk about this terrible disease but so glad you are telling us all your story.

  2. Tonight, as I look at a photograph on our chest of drawers of ‘Uncle Toby’ sat on Ernie I wonder how I am going to explain to our 5 year old daugther what’s happened to her godfather’s favourite bull. A very sad day for so many of us but for you Toby (David) it is a bloody miserable reality. We’re thinking of you x

  3. Hey There. I found your blog the use of msn. That is a veryy well written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and come back tto read more of your useful info.
    Thanks for the post. I will definitely return.

Leave a Reply

