Back Under bTB Restriction

I had a phone call from APHA to tell me one of my steers that had gone for beef the previous day had a suspect bTB lesion in its lungs, it will be sent for culture testing , 4 out of 5 comeback positive for bTB . It is an anxious wait for the results which take about 7 weeks to come back. So I’m put under restriction pending the result, if it’s negative and I hope and pray that it is then if our next whole herd test in September is clear, restrictions will be lifted. There is a lot of “if’s” there and I can’t help but prepare for the worst as we have been here to many times before.
We wait and wait to hear what the new government is going to do to implement its 25 year plan in full to get the UK #tbfree. I believe we will hear very soon, although it does appear that they have gone to sleep on the subject. Time waits for no man, bTB certainly does not.
In 1986 in the UK we had just 235 bTB reactors; in 2014 we had 32859 bTB reactors
This is an epic failure of catastrophic proportions on a policy that has been followed by successive governments, change is long overdue.
It is time farmers stop accepting the mass slaughter of cattle following a policy that does simply not work, the nettle must be grasped and the wildlife reservoir must be addressed without delay

2 thoughts on “Back Under bTB Restriction

  1. Very sorry to hear this David. I have been a keen reader of your blog since you started it. I am a vet currently working in deepest darkest cornwall. I used to do primarily cattle work, however I found the tb testing completely heartbreaking. Testing on a monday and tuesday were ok, but I used to absolutely dread reading tests on thursday and friday. I can’t imagine what farmers go through with TB, it must far outweigh the horror that I know most vets feel when they identify a reactor.

    I know your feelings about a badger cull and agree that this is the way to go, however I feel that shooting is not the correct way to go about it. If you were running the cull how would you perform it?

    I no longer work in the farming industry having moved over to the equine world primarily because I found Tb testing soul destroying. I hope your steer cultures negative.

    All the best to you, your family and your animals.

    • Ash, good question, as ever with btb no easy answers, I would like to see more Research in to gassing, it sounds horrible I know , but if an animal has to die it should be done as humanly as possible, so gassing does not interfere with the animal it simply goes to sleep in its own environment and does not wake up . For me this is what should happen, but at present there is not a gas available to do this, so I believe.
      The overriding thing to do now is to bring the disease under control ASAP and to do that we must continue as per the two pilots, remember animals in our countryside are controlled by shooting as it is the only way to do so, it is important to control deer rabbits foxes etc. and I think by and large this is done very professionally without fuss.
      I hope this answers your question, thanks for contacting me it’s good to have dialog and talk about the issue.

Leave a Reply

